I Forge Iron

Has it been tried: Aircrete Refractory

So, most of you have heard of Aircrete.  The mixing of cement with foam to produce a lighter yet strong version of material.  I've researched this and found the right mix and ingredients for small batches.

5gal Bucket of Aircrete =

4.7lbs cement

2.5lbs H2O or 32.8oz

2.1gal foam  (Made with Drexel foaming agent)

Has anyone ever tried to use refractory cement with a foaming agent?  I use HPV®-ESX CASTABLE, from HWI, (A fused silica castable designed for thermal shock resistance) for building my ribbon burners.  Its pretty pricey (well at least to me), but i've only used it to make the burners, not as a forge lining.

Any thoughts or ideas on this?  I might try making a small batch for testing, but what would be a good way to test.

V/R

D. Lyons

Welcome aboard Don, glad to have you.

Sorry, I can't answer your question, I have zero experience and have heard no testimony regarding Aircrete, none.

Refractory cement on the other hand is a known quantity and not particularly suitable as a propane forge liner. Cements are designed to stick things together, not act as a flame face and are generally short lived when used as a flame face. Not being familiar with Aircrete and not planning on researching it for you I can only ask if you are misusing the term Cement.

If not and without seeing examples of Aircrete being used as a flame face for an extended period, I recommend you use a proper refractory instead. Then experiment with additives as test coupons tested in a HOT forge. I know I can't afford to line a forge as a blind test. Done it, have the reject forge carcasses to prove it. I keep them to remind me NOT DO THAT AGAIN!

Frosty The Lucky.