I Forge Iron

A few Questions about the Dupont Linkage

Hello, first of all, my Name is Alberto Esparza, I'm a mech engineering student working on a power hammer as a project for the course of "Mechanical Design" but I'm having some serious problems right now with the spring, so I don't know where to go more than you in the search for experience.

What's the rate of the spring in the 50lb hammer?

and those who have built their own power hammers with the Dupont linkage how did you selected the spring? 

any info would be awesome, thanks for your time in advance.

Welcome aboard Alberto, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header it'll help considerably. Your translation software is going to take some getting used to some of your terms don't really make sense in American English. 

I'm having to guess what you mean by, "rate" of the spring. As an engineer you don't want opinions based on assumptions do you?

Frosty The Lucky.

That makes sense, another glimmer of light shines on my ignorance. Thanks Thomas.

"The Little Giant Powerhammer", book only lists springs by size: Dia. Length, wire dia. and coil count. Nothing about rate. 

I'm afraid that's the best I can do for you.

Frosty The Lucky.

Good Morning,

Racecar books have spring rate calculators. wire diameter, inside diameter of coil, number of working coils (the ends against the spring pad do not count, they are dead).

I will try to remember where I put my calculator.  Yes Thomas, springs are linear, rated per inch of compression.

Neil

On 4/29/2019 at 4:40 PM, Frosty said:

That makes sense, another glimmer of light shines on my ignorance. Thanks Thomas.

"The Little Giant Powerhammer", book only lists springs by size: Dia. Length, wire dia. and coil count. Nothing about rate. 

I'm afraid that's the best I can do for you.

Frosty The Lucky.