I Forge Iron

Hello from Louisiana

Les L

Hello everyone,

I've ben reading information on here for the last couple of month's. I want to thank all of you for the information you provide, it has helped me in making a decision on what I will be doing in the near future and I have learned a lot about the tools I will need, the current value of them and what I will need to set up my shop and get started.

I am just getting started with blacksmithing, currently gathering tools and expanding my current shop to turn it into my smithy. I have been a welder/fabricator for the 40+  years, always interested in blacksmithing, my Grandfather and one of my uncles were blacksmiths, but I did not have/take the time to get started in it, but all the excuses will be gone in the next few months when I won't have to head to work at 4:30 every morning. After I showed my wife some pictures of the wonderful work everyone on this site does I think she is more excited than me for me to get started heating and beating iron.

I have located my Grandfather's and uncle's forges and will pick them up in the next couple of weeks, I have managed to acquire a Fisher and a Vulcan anvil, a post vise, and several pair of tongs so far (TPAAAT works good, my wife says I'm scrounging, but I was able to show her it is an official technique). I'll post pictures of them in the tool section after I finish cleaning everything up.   

Welcome aboard Les, glad to have you. Sounds like you have a real gift for salvaging good stuff. Just don't get too carried away, you only need so much equipment and tooling to be pretty independent of needing more.