I Forge Iron

New, need help.

Simple Man

Hey fellas,

I'm new to the blacksmithing grind, I have a propane forge,  I just built and am in need of some used hammers,tongs, and other blacksmithing tools of the trade. I am 32 with 4 kids and my 5th will be here in the next month, any ideas of the best place to buy really cheap good used, will help me out a ton. If you have any for sale you can leave a comment or direct message me. Thanks and God Bless. I'm on a time crunch to get my ideas pounded out. Just need some steel to grab and forge. Also any cheap metal stock or ideas is much appreciated.  Again thanks.

Josh M.

Check out the simple twist tongs blueprint.

Keep your eyes peeled and your bound to run across some scrap steel. I have the best luck when I go for a walk. It's easier to see what's on the side of the road and in the ditches and woods. It's also a good excuse to take a walk.

Good luck

Pnut (Mike)

P.S.   I found a cheap hammer at TSC. Check yard sales and flea markets pawn shops junk stores etc.   I think harbor freight has a two lb ball pien for about eight bucks.

Edited by pnut

Welcome aboard Josh, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance. Someone the next street over from you just gave away an old anvil he found when he tore down an old shed for an elderly lady. .  What? DARN he didn't know you were looking. :( 

Seriously you'll be surprised how often it works that way and NO telling us in your next post isn't going to stick in our memories when we go to the next post.

Start hitting: garage, yard, rummage, etc. sales. What you need for a hammer is 32 oz. smooth faced though ball peins should always be on your buy list if they're cheap enough, say under $1 ea., no/broken handles are perfect. Ball pein hammers can be forged into lots of useful top tools and hammers.