I Forge Iron

Trenton 135# Advice for Rust Needed

Howdy! I'm new to the sport, and my dad just revealed he had this awesome Trenton 135lb farriers anvil. It had been sitting out open to the weather (but not in the weather) for probably the last 15 years- covered in a layer of greenish moss and rust. We immediately got it indoors, and I took a wire brush to the moss/rust coat. Took steel wool to the face.  

I'm trying to figure out how to remove all the rust, so I can get it properly dry and coated in oil/wax and keep it from rusting further. Long term, I will need to store this in my dad's barn, which isn't completely enclosed. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I believe this anvil was made in 1911, and has been passed down. I really don't want to ruin it!

IMG_20190411_160205.jpg

IMG_20190411_160243.jpg

IMG_20190411_155714.jpg

IMG_20190411_160146.jpg

Welcome aboard lad with the silly too long handle. Do you have a name or nick we can call you I'm not going to be typing that lonnnnng thing every time I want to get your attention of refer to you. Hmmm? If you'll put your genera location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.

Nice anvil and a family heirloom. SWEET! Do you have a right angle grinder? You can use a twisted wire cup brush and clean the rust off as well as is reasonably possible without removing metal in any significant amount. WEAR SAFETY GEAR! Few things in a shop are as dangerous as a powered wire brush, they'll strip flesh to the bone faster than than the pain can get to your brain. Not an exaggeration! Safety glasses AND a face shield just one is NOT enough! Leather shoes, long pants, an apron, preferably leather but it needs to be belted so it can't fall forward and get caught in the wire wheel. This is IMPORTANT! Any loose clothing is just dieing to get tangled in a wire wheel. No loose clothing, especially sleeves button them up.