I Forge Iron

Hello from Preston UK

da_1nsane

OK is SUCH a subjective thing I have to wonder if whoever the mysterious nameless new guy is, is baiting us.

Don't wait to collect everything you think you need, you don't know enough to know how little you really need. Anvil, hammer, fire, stock. The rest are nice but not necessary. 

Frosty The Lucky.

Haha my name is Martin should have really put that on the 1st post lol and yhea that's all I'm really getting, I picked up an anvil recently quite cheap that I'd like help identifying as it is a big one and I've just bought a forge also just waiting for it to arrive. I've got some of the other stuff as I'm a mechanic by trade so plenty of scrap metal lol 

Big one as in over 400#?  I once had an auctioneer tell me that they had a large anvil in an upcoming auction---I attended and it was 60 pounds...

Got a few pictures of your anvil?  I believe that Postman has not identified over 200 anvil manufacturers that were in England the last couple of centuries.

Decent looking anvil Martin, the missing section of face plate might be a problem. Use a light ball pein hammer to tap the entire face and listen for sudden changes in tone, especially for dead spots. There's a chance the area around the damaged face plate is delaminated. There is plenty of face to work with without taking the chance of trying to repair the damaged face.  We talk about the risk of damaging the face you run doing repairs in other threads. 

About using something for scale a VW bus might be okay but you need to put the anvil against something we have a way to gauge. On the ground against the tire would be okay but not great, tires aren't all the same size.