I Forge Iron

Starting a forge

Irongru

Hello all

I am new to blacksmithing.

I have an old bbq that i was planning on converting to a forge, i have put some pictures below.

At the bottom is a hole which was used to brush the charcoal through once it had been used.

My plan was to clean it out and put clay around the inside as im not sure if the metal is good enough to withstand the heat. 

With the hole at the bottom, i was going to use this for my air flow. However, one concern i have is used charcoal falling into the tubing.

Has anyone ever converted one of these to a forge. Any advice/tips would be appreciated.

20190315_174857.jpg

20190315_174904.jpg

For a charcoal fueled forge you will probably want to convert it to a more trough shaped forge as all the charcoal in the hearth will burn and so any not actively involved in heating the work piece is just wasted.  And remember to use lump charcoal and not briquettes.  Have you reviewed the JABOD thread?

The style your showing works ok for coal as fire spread isn’t an isue, not so good for charcoal as you will waste fuel. For charcoal bring the mud all the way even with the rim and scoop out a bowl or trench.

go to the forges section and look at the pended posts, their is a treatise on side blast forges with illustrations. And some pictures posted. The drawings are on a 1” to one square scale.

Take a 4' length of stock and heat the middle of it in that design. Remember there needs to be several inches of fuel on to of the piece too!

Me I use dirt and creak clay, I avoid rocks and bricks but may mix sand and wood ashes in the dirt and clay.  If I am using charcoal in a coal forge I will put in firebrick or adobe to make a trough to contain the fuel and deepen the fire.