I Forge Iron

Need help with brazing torch

Hey all, 

I am looking into making a scabbard for a Scottish Dirk I am working on. I will need to make the chape and fitting at the top of the scabbard. Not sure yet if I will use copper or brass. Anyways I am totally new to sodering and brazing.   My understanding is  that these are tequnics that runs somewhat parallel but brazing requires higher heat. My understanding is for greater strength these components on the scabbard should be brazed. I currently do not have any kind of torch. As I continue to process this whole scabbard  build my question is what kind of torch? I have read quite a bit onlin on different set ups but would like some input from forum. I have looked at the ORCA EZ Torch, Victor Turbotorch STK-11, or a Bernzomatic TS8000. I appreciate your thoughts on wether the TS8000 is adiquet or if one of the other two are going to be the way to go. 

Thanks

Aaron

You also have a shop, equipment and expert help. College extension courses are less expensive per semester than my oxy propane torch set and I bought that a good 30 years ago. Best  of all you come away with skills and new friends.

Frosty The Lucky.

Tomas and Frosty, 

Unfortunately taking a jewelers course at a community college is not an option right now. Thomas when you say you use a hard solder are you using a Silver solder? Do you have a preferred brand?  How about a hard brass solder? 

Aaron 

The college should also have a lot of the associated tools, equipment and materials that will allow you to form, clean and polish the chape and throat for your project.  You will likely want to anneal your stock before and during forming, need special stakes, want to pickle your work and possibly want to "age" it with a patina.  The last two are best done in a fume hood (or with a lot of ventilation).