I Forge Iron

which hammer first?

pnut

Which hammer first? I'm just starting out and have been combing the local flea market, junk shops and antique stores and have had no luck with finding any hammers over a pound or pound and a quarter. I will definitely keep looking but in the meantime the only hammers I can find new are a two pound ball pien, three pound cross pien ,or two and a half pound Walmart mini sledge. I'm not a big guy, 5'8"and 145#. I plan on  eventually buying the three pound cross pien but I'm wondering if I should buy the two pound ball pien or two point five pound sledge first. I'm leaning towards the mini sledge at 2.5 pounds because it's the cheapest. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,.

Pnut (Mike)

Glenn , for some reason there seems to be a drought with regards to ball piens at my local flea market. I'm going to check again this weekend. I couldn't find any over a pound. Someone must have gotten there before me. I can get a two pounder at TSC today though for about ten or twelve bucks.  

Any of the hammers you listed will find a use in your shop eventually, particularly the 2# ball peen, but some are optimized for different tasks.

A 1.25# crosspeen can be a great hammer in the shop, especially if you are working on smaller crossections (like 1/2" square for instance), but for general forging I recommend hammers in the 2-2.5# range for folks just putting together their kit.  One issue you may have is that most store bought hammers should be properly dressed before they are ready for serious smithing.  This is a 5 minute task with a good belt grinder, but much more difficult if you don't have some kind of powered abrasive tool.

I agree with Glen that Flea market or garage sales are a great source for hammers.  I've gotten 2# Swedish crosspeens and striking sledges for $5 each that only needed a little cleanup and new handles to be great tools.  In the mean time you might consider the following: