I Forge Iron

My brief introduction

louspinuso

Hi all, my name is Lou and I'm just north of Tampa, FL (it should be in my profile, I'll try to fix it if it doesn't show up).

I am a complete newb.  I've spent the last few years reading and researching what I need before I start (I sometimes find myself spending more time learning a  hobby than actually doing it) and I'm now ready(ish).  I know how people feel about railroad tracks for anvils, but it's about the best thing I've got at the moment to beat on.  I'm currently reading the "Gas Burners for forges, funaces and kilns" and also the burners 101 sticky.  I went and borrowed my cousins forge (it's an older devil forge ebay special).  Anyway, with that I beat on some low carbon welding steel (home depot stuff) that I had laying around in the garage and decided  I was all ready to make my own forge (and burner) as I finally found a reliable source of TAOwool nearby (for reasonable money too).   

I started looking at making burners (which is when I started reading the material previously listed) and found that the cost for 2 burners, the high pressure valve, hoses, wool, rigidizer, and firebricks for the floor was going to put me at about $200.  That added to the trepidation of making a burner that I was not familiar with how it should work led me to looking for premade burners on ebay, where I found... A devils forge DFSW2.  Now I know that people have mixed feelings about this forge, mostly for the dollars to value point, but I've read that the burners are at least solid and this forge now comes with the CGA-510 propane adapter AND rigidizer the wool AND fire brick for the floor for and the whole package is $179 including free shipping.  I figure at that price, it will at least be a good starting point and when I build my own burners, I'll know how they should behave.