I Forge Iron

Noob Question

I'm pretty new at the blacksmithing play, and loving it.  I have a good propane forge that I built but I am wanting the selective heating of solid fuel, so here is my newbie question:

Is it possible/advisable to use both charcoal and coal in the same forge design?  I've read that charcoal burns clean but fast and hot, and notice it also likes to pop and throw spark showers a lot.  Any advice would be much appreciated.

Fuel does not make a fire hot, air makes a fire hot.

With the proper forge set up you can use coal or charcoal in the same forge. The forge will be one configuration for coal, and same configuration can be used if the walls of the forge are much deeper for charcoal.  Fire maintenance is a little different but much the same. 

Weight for weight, charcoal and coal produce similar BTUs. Coal is a lot denser so there is less volume. 

If your charcoal fire is throwing showers of sparks, then reduce the air flow and add more fuel. You want a fireball about the size of a melon with extra fuel on top of that. The extra fuel insulates and keeps the fire ball hot as well being replacement fuel for that fuel that is consumed. Once you have the right amount of air dialed in, you will be surprised just how little air it takes to run a forge. You only need just enough air to produce the heat you need from the fuel you use. 

yes *BUT* charcoal works better with a different design.  When I use LUMP charcoal (NOT briquettes!) in my coal forge I take fire bricks or adobe and make it into a trough forge so I can have the needed depth for the charcoal fire but not waste a lot of fuel on un-needed breadth.  Easy to add, easy to remove and makes using charcoal a lot nicer and more efficient/cheaper.  Also charcoal uses much "softer" air; hard not to overblow charcoal if you are using an electric blower but it works great with hand crank or bellows (single, double, double lunged, Asian box bellows, etc).