I Forge Iron

How to prevent/reduce embers for a coal forge.

Sun

Hi all,

I am a newbie to this site. I had previously tried my hand at some backyard/ hobby blacksmithing before, but it was not very successful. The forge I was using previously had air blowing in from the side and I could not figure out how to get concentrated heat (I know realize air coming in from the bottom is much more efficient). I have now obtained a brake drum (which for some reason is pretty difficult in my area) and will be making a simple brake drum forge. 

*edit: I no longer have the side hole forge

My problem is I live in a residential area with a small back yard and am worried about possible embers flying up into the neighborhood. I was thinking of possibly making the forge stand out of red clay bricks and maybe making some sort of simple overhead structure (maybe a piece of sheet metal sandwiched between some bricks) to rest a few feet above the forge. Does anyone else have a simple solution to the ember problem? (other than using a propane forge). I also DO NOT have access to a welder currently.

oh also, the forge will not be located in a shop if that wasn't already clear

Welcome aboard Sun, glad to have you. Both side and bottom blast forges have their plusses and minuses. At your present skill level neither is particularly good, you have to learn a few things first.

A brake drum bottom blast is NOT a good beginner's fire pot unless it's all you have available. You have a side blast now learn to use it, it has a number of advantages.

What's bad about a brake drum fire pot? It's WAY too large, especially for someone who hasn't become proficient managing  fire. That will be a serious fuel hog and you'll burn up a lot of steel before you learn how to make it behave. 

A sideblast on the other hand is easy to reconfigure and all three main zones are visible making work placement and fire management much easier.