I Forge Iron

Knife blade scrap steel around the farm

My name is Brian Coffman and I'm new to bladesmithhing. I've made 5-6 knives in the last 2 months mainly rebar knives. RR spike knives. And a few from flat stock we have at work. I work in a rebar fabrication shop mainly I use the scrap to make knives but I'd like to find some good steel around the farm that I could forge a knife that would have and maintain a solid sharp edge. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm currently talking with a few mechanics to get some cool spring or leaf springs but would like to find stuff from cutting discs or bushhogs to forge good quality knives. I live in Wilmore Ky so if anyone is close and wouldn't care to show me a few things or share some tips I would really appreciate it. I have 4 wonderful boys ages 9 10 15 & 17 that forging is something we can do together besides football. Hunting. And fishing. Just an idea of what my setup is a propane forge with single xl burner and railroad track anvil I've shaped out. I appreciate any advice given 

15481952650582593858841971660417.jpg

15481953181061837533530202819291.jpg

A lot of old agricultural steel is good medium to high carbon alloys.  However some of the newer disks and brush hog blades are now a boron alloy that does not harden appropriately for blades. So do you have access to the old stuff often abandoned in place along fence rows or???  Can you spark test for carbon content? 

A lot of the steel involved in pulling of tillage equipment may be 1075-1080 as well.  I'm working up my nerve to ask my landlord about a 2.5" square by 14' long bar that a bunch of plow points are mounted to...out along the fence row along the back of the property.  a lifetime + of hammer stock if it tests as HC.

"Step by Step Knifemaking"  showed a lot of old steel the author used for his blades.

4 hours ago, Benona blacksmith said:

As in a rebar manufacturing plant? If so can you find out specs on the rebar?