I Forge Iron

What level projects should I work on?

ForgingH

Good evening everyone, I'm a newbie whose been searching all over for the answer to a question that someone with years of experience might know. Should I begin by forging simple projects that increase in difficulty, or try to tackle harder projects until I get them right? I'm not asking you to look it up. I'm just hoping that some master is willing to pass on information that not everyone knows. Thanks in advance, Hux.

Start simple. Make one, then make another one, only better. Learn the techniques needed for that project.

You want to have projects that you can succeed in making. They may not turn out exactly right, but the second, third, forth, units should each be better than the previous one. Then move on to another simple project and repeat. As you see other projects, you will find them just a series of simple steps joined together into what looks to be a more complicated project. 

Nothing wrong with stretching your limits. Just be certain to tell yourself that you are trying, and it does not have to be perfect. It is only a way to find out how to do it better the next time. Learn from each project and add that knowledge to your bag of tricks. 

For the first time blacksmith, get a piece of metal hot and bend it. As long as the metal is bent, you succeeded !!

Get a piece of metal hot, clamp one end, and twist it. As long as the metal is twisted, you succeeded !!

Get a piece of metal hot and flatten it out a bit. As long as the metal is thinner then when you started, you succeeded !!

Bent metal can be S hooks to an arched stair railing. Twisted metal is decorative. Flatten metal can be chisels, drifts, punches, etc. or decorative items. A fish tail scroll is nothing more than a flatten out piece of metal with a bend in it. Now add form hammer marks to the fish tail part of the scroll, and make them a decorative element of the arched stair railing.