I Forge Iron

Burners required

Irentei

Hey. im trying to set up a gas forge and have begun making burners. The burner's main pipe has an inner diameter of 1" 
the gas tank has an outer diameter of 102 cm while ive measured the inside room to be 14 cm square in the opening on each end with a depth of 54 cm i think this translate to the inside being 645.15 cubic inches.

will 2 burners be overkill or sufficient for this size of forge ?

also how much will the length of the main pipe affect the burn? and how necessary is the nozzle at the end ?

im completely new at this so all feedback is appriciated :) 

thanks in advance

20181205_200359.jpg

20181205_200405.jpg

20181205_200410.jpg

Welcome to IFI... I suggest reading this thread to get the best out of the forum. https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/53873-read-this-first/

The expert's on gas forges will be along shortly to advise you. Myself with a forge that large, I would go with 3 burners if I planned to do any welding in it. Is the 645 ci before or after insulating and refractory?

It is obvious that you have not researched burners at all.  I am not criticizing, simply stating what I read.  Propane burners while sometimes seemingly simple are scientifically complicated.  I am no expert on any of this stuff but have spent time researching and built a handful of successful burners.  If you want to do the research and development on your own burner, that is fine, but know that that is exactly what you would be doing.  If you just want burners that will work properly without the fuss of inventing your own, research a known to work design and build it to the specs of that design.