I Forge Iron

New to metal, having issues with Heating

HI, I am completely new to working with metal but am a pretty experienced woodworker. That being said im not an idiot but im also not sure on what I am doing most of the time. My biggest issue is when i make a knife, with material removal not forging, I heat the steel to a non magnetic state, pull it out and brush it and then put back in for a few mins and then pull out to normalize. I do this 3 times and on the final stage I dip in warm canola oil. When I pull it out of the oil I noticed large black spots everywhere and when I take it to the grinder I realized that the divots went so deep into the steel that the knife was ruined. It looked like it had rusted for 30 years and had extreme pitting. I have searched and searched and can not find anything on this issue. Im not sure if im using the proper terminology which could be the reason I cant find what I need. If this is the wrong spot to post please let me know and I will move. This is the first time on this forum, thanks for any help, tips, advice.

What alloy are you using and how are you heating it.

Also how thick is it at the edge when you quench it?

Mechanick Exercises; published in 1703 mentions "He that will a good edge win,  Must forge thick and grind thin."

It is possible that you are not leaving enough meat to remove the hardening oxidation.  A picture would help.

Also it really helps to go through it with someone who knows the ropes. Not knowing even what country of the 100+ that participate here I can't make a suggestion where to find such a smith.