I Forge Iron

first gas forge/burner (modified mag-torch burner)

Vykk

20181128_200332.thumb.jpg.735c9e9938259a2343c967c2881e78f8.jpg20181128_180028.thumb.jpg.6decb766892b4f4b47f253012aec10c4.jpg20181128_180456.thumb.jpg.902c93b3ef88282e051d957769b307a6.jpg20181128_200051.thumb.jpg.1b6ab310d1d6a85d732ec862abe3f45f.jpg20181128_194355.thumb.jpg.a11916c6758b170d914e3b16aff31d11.jpgHi everyone I'm a newbie in gas burners and forges and I'm looking for advice. 

The forge is just a brick stack 3.5"x3.5"x9" held together with sheet metal but seems to retain heat well enough. The burner is a modified 1/2" T burner built onto the end of a mag-torch. using a .35 mig tip.

it runs off a 1lb propane camp tank currently so one thing i would like to fix is I was told that because of the torch valve i can't hook it to a regulator so has very low pressure when trying to run on the 5gal tank.

the other issue im seeing is an unsteady blue flame that sputters a lot when tuning.

my idea was to make a small portable forge i could take with me for smithing for a friends youth group as a demonstration. 

any tips or suggestions would be appreciated. 

Hard firebrick or insulating firebrick?  When you say it "seems" to retain heat, how are you evaluating that (outside surface temperature of your forge)?

A couple of immediate suggestions:

1. Switch out the .35 mig tip for the smallest one you can source to increase velocity of the gas and entrain more air (flame looks heavily reducing)
  2. Make sure your needle valve is rated for gas service (not sure why you have two needle valves in any case...)
  3. Try to find a method for using a 20 gal propane tank with an adjustable regulator if possible
  4. Pull the end of your burner back into the insulation further.  From the photos it is too close to the forge floor and the tip will burn up eventually if your forge ever gets really hot.