I Forge Iron

Looking for advice on my very first gas forge

MBForge

Hi all,

Had a rather unexpected gift "on its way" given to me for my birthday this year: a dual valve Forgemaster (Blacksmith model). I am not a farrier by trade or professional by any means; this has strictly been a hobby to date so you can imagine how completely floored I was. Well, It's been sitting on my desk assembled for over a month now, still brand new. Quite frankly, it just feels too "rich" (or nice) that I almost don't want to fire it up. I'm forcing myself to take it out this weekend :)

Anyways, I've already read through the article Can Your Forge Take The Heat several times as I really don't want to mess things up, this being my very first gas forge and all. I'm a little concerned about the outside deteriorating as shown in the header image of that article: is that normal? Besides the standard operating procedures and the precautions outlined in this article, is there anything else I should be aware of?

Also, if someone has this same forge, I would especially appreciate a brief how-to video demonstrating proper operation and forging with it.

Thanks!

IMG_5433.thumb.JPG.72c57f6bbde8743432bd23536339c16c.JPG

Additional resources (mostly reference list for myself):

Welcome aboard Mb, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance. 

The only thing I'd do before using is maybe kiln wash it to preserve the liner. I don't know what Forgemaster lines them with and didn't look them up online. They have a pretty complete website.