I Forge Iron

damascus bar

ausfire

I forged this Damascus bar from a small billet of nine layers, alternating mild with spring steel from a car bonnet spring. I have folded and fire welded it twice so it now has 36 layers. I'm thinking it would make a good knife. Is 36 enough, or would another fold be better? I have had little experience with knife making - unsure of where to go from here.

damascus1.JPG

There is NO "magic number of layers" for making a knife.  The design, alloys used and carbon migration are the controlling factors. (Look at San Mai with only 3 layers in the finished billet!  The design makes use of the high carbon center layer for the blade edge and so carbon migration is not an issue/bonus either.)

from page 134, Intro to knifemaking:

There are no high and low carbon content layers to pattern welded steels. Some layers may be softer in the end but that is only due to the nature of that layers alloys. Not all elements migrate as fast as carbon does. According to metallurgist Thomas Nizolek:

When we forge weld steels together, the carbon content in any layer of steel will equalize with that of the surrounding layers of steel very quickly. In Pennsylvanian, February 2009, Laboratory testing was made on a forge welded billet made from 4 alternating bars of W2 and 203E. This examination was done with an electron microscope. In the four layer sample it is evident, based on the pearlite gradient between the layers, that extensive carbon diffusion occurred after the first weld course. Drawn out and folded, the eight-layer sample showed that the pearlite concentration has almost equalized, however ferrite still decorates the prior-austenitic grain boundaries in the 203E layer. By the time the material has reached 16 layers, the carbon content of the sample appears to be uniform.