I Forge Iron

New Blacksmith - First Anvil - Trenton 176#

First of all, this is my first post here so, Hello Everyone!  : )

I'm new to Blacksmithing, but really looking forward to getting started. I have been searching for equipment and scored a few items at a recent estate auction. I didn't' score an anvil there but I ended up with a few post vises, a Buffalo rivet forge, and some miscellaneous stuff.

I ended up selling a couple of the post vises to a really nice guy that offered to sell me one of his anvils. Well, I went out to his place last night and outspent my budget a little but I'm really happy with what I ended up with. This is a 176# Trenton (I believe) I can't discern any markings on the side of the anvil but I'll attack some photos of the serial number (looks like A124616 to me) etc. He thought that this was a 1908 anvil made in Columbus Ohio. Curious what I might find out here.

Thanks in advance!

20181031_202945.jpg

20181101_065207.jpg

20181101_065426.jpg

20181101_065417.jpg

6 minutes ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Your Trenton looks to have a very good face. I hope you have read about not doing any milling, grinding or welding on the hardened face. Hammering hot steel on it will make it shine right up.

BTW: welcome to IFI...

Yes, I planned on using it as-is. I picked this one because the face was so nice. Thanks for the heads-up.

I do see a lot of YouTube videos of people repairing anvils by welding them up. Is this type of activity reserved for the really unusable anvils or is it always considered a no-no?

Many of us lean towards the: First---Do No Harm school of things.

Would you want to have surgery done on you by a surgeon who had just watched it on youtube?