I Forge Iron

I’m new

Chuckbuckeye

I’m new to blacksmithing . I’ve been reading for awhile . I have a good idea of what I need to get . I have a couple crappy welders and have a 3 g cert in welding but would really like to venture into smithing . I have $500 to get started . I need a forge and an anvil . I have a 4” piece of rail road track but haven’t mounted it  to anything . I’ve done a lot of wood working and have all this e tools . I am a union electrician by trade . I need all the advice and help I can get as to go about starting . Please give me any feed back . I’m dumb or crazy or whatever . Help is what I need . Super excited to start . 

Find a fuel in your area that is readily available and cheap. Build a forge to use that fuel. For solid fuels read the posts on the 55 Forge and JABOD just a box of dirt, and Solid Fuel Forges  For gas fuels read Gas Forges.  Then move on to A collection of improvised anvils.

A 2 pound hammer is a good place to start. Ball peins work and can be found at the flea markets for a couple of bucks.

Coal is cheaper than free charcoal?  Where are you at?!

Can you explain "The Best Heat" Charcoal has been used to forge with for about 3000 years, coal for under 1000 and gas around 100 years. (and induction forges are the new kids on the block) I have melted steel in my propane forge accidently and most of the professionals use propane forges for doing fancy pattern welding.  Only been smithing for 37 years so I probably don't know what the best heat is...

Chuck, Glenn has given you a good pointer. Start with finding what is readily available fuel in your area. Coal, Coke or Charcoal, and their prices. Unfortunately it is no longer the case that you can go to the local general store and have a choice. Not in most places anyway.