I Forge Iron

First forge

Lupercal

So I've just started blacksmithing. Currently I've been practicing hammer control on making miniature swords out of old nails using a blowtorch for heating but I'm really looking to get an actual coal fire going. I've seen a lot of posts, videos. etc about ways to go about this but they all have varying concerns for me and so I decided to make my own post so you guys can help me decide how to go about this. I'd prefer to go "old school " where possible as a large part of learning to Smith is the medieval history aspect so I want to do coal and manual bellows. I'd seen some stuff that i can use clay? I live in an area that red clay is abundant. Could I form and shape an "oven" forge out of red clay? Any suggestions are welcome and I'll reply with my concerns if any so you can help me decide. Thanks!

As a fellow beginner, I'd recommend this. It's worked great for me so far for making small hooks, house numbers, and pantry handles:

It's a bread pan with a square tube going through it, and a 50/50 mix of Plaster of Paris and play sand as a refractory. I did not come up with this design myself, and if you want more details on  (link does not work)

Forge.thumb.JPG.4ea6c4702bd0879f194617e1a46b2402.JPG

I then used this blower that I made as an air supply: https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/60184-beginner-blower-idea/

Hope this helps!

Well most medieval forging was done with charcoal, coal was the new dangled fuel and fairly used in Europe. Might I recommend looking at the Just a box of dirt pined post in solid fuel forges, go and look at the illustrated information on sideblast forges and then look at the mark III JABOD forge. This will help you get your midieval forge up and going. I would also look at the pined post about improvised anvils. A 4” square block is much more midieval than a London pattern.