I Forge Iron

Who keeps the plans?

I recently came across an interesting issue when soliciting a design bid from an engineer.  The client is using a cloud-based project management system that includes a "live" model of the project.  I'm not an expert in CAD or BIM so I specifically asked the engineer about this process.  The system allows everyone in the project to access the exact same 3D model at the same time.  As the engineer explained all of this they mentioned something I wouldn't have thought of.  The client "owns" the project. This means that the design consultants, Architects, and Engineers all lose access to everything they did on the project when it's complete.  In this system, even email is contained within the project so even that will disappear whenever the client chooses. Apparently there are strict rules against removing anything from the collaborative site.  

Jeremy,  I think most design professionals would have a contract ensuring their payment for their work in whatever form it takes.  The "old way" of doing things was for these same professionals to develop, improve, then finally submit the final versions of their work to the client.  Communications were via meetings, calls, messages, mail, and email.  At the end of a job, those design professionals kept all their notes, calculations, versions, communications, and designs.  Non-disclosure agreements kept them from selling that information to the clients competitor, but they kept their work files for later reference.  In the past, some Architects claimed copyright protection on their designs to prevent clients from sharing the plans. 

That reminds me of one particularly curmudgeonly Architect who refuses to allow digital versions of his plans to be circulated. He set up an exclusive contract with one print-shop that only provides paper prints of his projects.  If you want to measure plans like it's 2008, you have to buy the plans, then have them scanned into a digital file yourself.  

Thomas,