I Forge Iron

3rd Day Forging, First Knife

Colorado CJ

I am brand new to forging/blacksmithing having just lighted my forge for the first time 2 days ago.  So far I've made a few leaf keyrings, but today I wanted to try something different.

I got some railroad spikes off of ebay, so I threw one in the forge and started heating it up.  After about an hour and a half I had what I think is a decent start to a small camp knife.

43941236485_4bca1343b1_b.jpgFirst Forged Knife by Andrew Marjama, on Flickr

I forged the bevels in as best I could.  

Next I had to go to harbor freight and pick up a cheap $50.00 1 x 30 belt grinder.  I've never had one before, always working with angle grinders when welding.  I'd LOVE to get a 2x72 but they are so expensive.  I might build one in the future though.

Anyway, I got a rough grind done using an 80 grit belt.  There weren't any hammer marks to grind out, just scale and some small pockets (I'm guessing from the scale).  This is what I got so far.

43941360915_57c6f385b5_b.jpgForged Rail Road Spike Knife by Andrew Marjama, on Flickr

My question now is, do I heat treat the blade now?  What can I use for cooling when heat treating?  I might try to just heat treat the blade edge and leave everything else softer metal.  

I am also going to have to watch some videos of final grinding to get some pointers.  Any youtube videos you might recommend?

I think I am going to use some black G10 I have in the shop (leftovers from a CNC project).  I might try sandblasting it once I shape the handles to get a good grip surface.

Weather it was a HC rr spike or regular low carbon rr spike you will not get a lot of hardness out of it. Just because a lot of people make " knives" out of them to show on youtube or just for kicks doesnt make it good knife material. Many times they make them just showing the spike head so you know it was a spike, for show. It won't hold an edge for any real work as a camp knife.