I Forge Iron

Soft Firebrick Retailer?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the blacksmithing world and was wondering if there were any smiths out in Western Pennsylvania that knew where I could buy some soft firebricks for a good price. I've searched around quite a bit online but can't seem to find anything relatively inexpensive. I mostly find some decently priced bricks but then the shipping is more than the bricks themselves. 

If anyone knows of a good brick and mortar store near(ish) Pittsburgh or of a good online retailer for soft firebrick, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

Thank you for the welcome and the helpful link.

I'm primarily looking to use them for blocking off my propane forge (serving as "doors) to help insulate the forge. I would also like to put one in the forge itself to replace the hard firebrick I've been using as a shelf. I've been having trouble getting my forge up to proper forging temperatures and have heard that soft bricks would work a bit better to insulate it. 

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. The current best insulating fire brick we know of here is the "K 26" insulating fire brick. They withstand the fast thermal cycling home forges put them through very well and they're available in most of the free world. "High Temp. Inc" make them, Axner supply sells them as do many others. I believe Ebay had the best prices a while ago but Amazon has sources. Call the local HVAC service and or supply company, if they don't carry them they'll know who does.

Frosty The Lucky.