I Forge Iron

Electric Heat Treatment Furnace

I have built an electric heat treating furnace and just have a couple minor tweaks to finish everything up.   I did a lot of calculations and for the most part I was within a fairly small margin of error in the finished product.  I built it to run on 110/120v without tripping a 20 amp breaker and I have succeeded at that.  I also wanted it to reach 1950 degrees F (1065 degrees C), which I have also accomplished.  However, it takes over 3 hours to go from ambient temperature up to my target.  Since this is my first build and I have no previous experience with electric furnaces I was curious how this compares to commercially produced ovens operating at the same voltage.  If any of you have some numbers for me to use for comparison I would appreciate it.

When I get home I'll take a look at my notes where I have the surface area, watts per square inch, surface loading of the wire, etc. calculated.  I do remember seeing the 3.9 watts per square inch and I think I was either very close to it or perhaps a little over it. 

It seems slow to me as well, but most of the ovens/furnaces I've seen are 220v operating around 13 amps, whereas I'm on 110v around 16 to 17 amps.  Some of the reports I saw with 220v ovens claimed 75 minutes or more to reach about the same temps, but more than 3 hours still seems a bit excessive.    I may do a partial disassembly and make sure I don't have any significant gaps anywhere, but I was curious about others' experiences with 110v ovens.  No need to tear something apart if it's normal for its parameters.