I Forge Iron

Framing hammers

JD Forge

Looks like a Vaughan style. My day job is as a Carpenter, and one thing I've been thinking of making is some framing hammers.  They look good, the main thing with wood handled framing hammers is to have a large eye, thats a weak point. The only thing I see wrong with them is maybe taper the nail pulling side a little more consistently there are big nails and small, if its a gradual taper it'll fit them all. Also I'm curious how you hardened and tempered them, also what steel?

Thanks for the feedback. I'm happy to get feedback from carpenters!! I see what you mean about the slot for the nails. I'll try to fix that in the future.

I used 1045 steel. So I quenched in water and then stuck a heated drift through the eye of the hammer to do the tempering. 

Have you tried hitting it on something relatively hard? Just to see if it wants to shatter? I know my favourite hammer as of the last ten years or so is a 22oz Estwing, I had a Vaughan California Framer that looked a lot like your hammers. My experience with the Estwing is that they tend to err on the tough side. Meaning that the head deforms over time and the nail pulling end tends to wallow out after a while, but they don't break. Seems like there is a fine line in there. I have a book around here that tells the preferred temper color of a hammer head, just gotta find it.

It’s tough to say what the proper temper color is for a hammer because steels vary so much even from batch to batch. I personally err a little on the softer side because I’d rather not worry about the liability of a sliver going into someone’s eye. Plus, the claws need to be a little softer and springier that the face so they aren’t snapped off. 

On 9/17/2018 at 11:04 PM, Rhyfelwr said:

Have you tried hitting it on something relatively hard? Just to see if it wants to shatter?