I Forge Iron

What kind should I buy?

Newbie here, I’ve been making knives for about 6 years and a glass blower for 20. I’ve been tinkering with a rr track and coal forge made from a brake drum for about 6 years as well. Just messing around with rr spike I get from a scrap yard here. I just stepped up my game and got a gas forge a 100lb and a 200lb arm&anvils. I have bought 1085-1095 for knives. I want square stock for hooks, leaves, keychains and tongs but don’t think it needs to be high carbon. What kind of square or round stock should I buy for basic projects? Any info would be greatly appreciated. 

I use mostly hot rolled bars that you can get at metal yards or shorter rods you can get at places like Tractor Supply or Attwods. I'm sure you can get it at other farm and ranch stores. Those are just close to me here. Look in scrapyards also. I'm sure someone will be along soon that can tell you better than I can.

Any basic projects (leaves, hooks, tongs, keychains, etc) don't need to be high carbon steel, if that is what you're asking. If you are asking about size, I usually use something like 1/4in to 1/2in square or round for most projects. I'm a little too tired right now to see if you are near any selling scrapyards, so I'll just say that if you are near any, use those for steel. if you are like me and need steel from either online or over-priced stores, try to find the cheapest place near you. If you are on a budget, rebar at home-depot is pretty cheap, and though some people are just a tad snobby about it, I haven't had any problems with simply squaring off the texture and using it for most mild-steel projects.

Indeed the box stores are expensive. I just got a 72" long 3/8 "hot rolled round rod. 7 bucks.  I'm going to try to utilize every bit of that. If you can find something you can use at a scrapyard, it'll be much cheaper. Plus foraging in a scrapyard is just fun. You never know what you'll find :)