I Forge Iron

Is it worth saving 100 year old fencing?

I may have a chance to get (i'm just guessing) 150 feet of beautiful fencing off a mansion that was built on waterfront property in 1914. I don't have pictures but can provide some. Its real nice, not the most elaborate design but its nice. Anyways its painted so, i'm not sure if its wrought iron but its real nice. I'm still new to the blacksmithing trade.  Without pics, is the fencing off an old mansion worth saving?

The odds are that iron that survived for 100 years without falling apart near the watefront is wrought iron. 

If there are any areas where the paint is peeling you can take a look at the rust . Rusted wrought iron looks different than rusted mild steel. 

Of course the best test would be to obtain a sample and notch and bend to see how it breaks . Or a very quick and dirty test is to use a center punch and punch small divot into mild steel and also into the fencing.   Wrought iron is a lot softer. 

If you can get it for free, grab it up!  If you can get it for something like $10/ft, grab it up!  Don't let it be scrapped!!

However, don't think about forging it into something.  That fence has been around for a hundred years, you have no experience smithing, and all you'll do is bugger up a ton of good fence. 

Instead, use the fence as fence.  It's gorgeous fence that would cost you at least $100/ft to have made today.  Why would you want to chop it up and make bottle openers?  If you're dying to forge some genuine wrought iron, you can buy bars of the stuff online for very little money.  It's salvaged iron and just bar stock, so buy what  you think you can use and be done with it.

Chopping up a perfectly good fence because you want to tinker with wrought iron, destroying a fence that can't be reasonably duplicated?  Ugh!