I Forge Iron

Anvil Rescue, Mousehole?

Hello! I have scoured the forums as a guest looking for clues on the manufacturer of this anvil. It’s in very bad shape, I purchased it for £90.00. I may have overpaid? Just wondering if anybody on here could identify it? 

The remaining top plate, when a ball bearing is dropped from 12 inches it rebounds to 9 inches. On the rest of the face is rebounds to 6 inches. 

The horn is horrendously damaged too. It looks like it’s had a terrible life. I’m a machinist by trade in the Midlands, UK. I had access to all the equipment, material, heat treatment etc to attempt a repair.

I’m thinking remake the top plate out of something decent like 2767, heat treat it and then have it welded on. I can wire cut a new hardy hole in the new plate. I’m getting ahead of myself though. 

i’ve joined the forums to read and research the best way to go about a repair. Before I start researching I am very curious as to who the manufacturer is?

if anybody could shed some light, I would appreciate your help very much! 

3B7B79E7-3916-408C-869B-4F557F81CE75.jpeg

BF9EF5FA-6AF0-4604-BE35-8DC93152D6BA.jpeg

3C87FCE4-5084-45F4-8DA4-DABCDBC3BDF1.jpeg

1666A0D0-57B3-4025-86BB-F8E10908943B.jpeg

25D5052A-47F5-4F09-80E2-7E90FA922602.jpeg

0B66ED0A-FA9C-4708-AE8C-04B893E1B7AD.jpeg

9F87CEB6-4647-447E-B864-0276705C88AB.jpeg

93898BC7-870F-4B55-8D42-A2C1837B67FA.jpeg

C3BBF37E-67D3-4EF3-940C-D1DEBA26E1EA.jpeg

Man, she has earned a hard living.  I know that the common wisdom  is to just use it as is, but there is a part of me that would love to see it repaired.   I know this is not easily done and often results in ruining the remaining utility.  It just hurts to see her so beat up.  I think it was a good buy.  don't know how much she weighs, but it looks like you could get some good use from it.  No idea the maker.  Good luck.  interested to see the outcome.