I Forge Iron

Back yard, causal forge that can melt iron

Resaramp

Alright im new to forges ive only bult one, it was a solid fuel forge made from plaster and sand, to say the least it was cool and fun but i want more power. I want to create a propane furnace that can either be slightly mobile or permanent in my back yard. I have a cement platform and the space to do it and my budget its around 300$. From what ive read the best way to do it is with a combination of kalewool or some insalating fiber and refractory cement, my question is can you guys post pictures of your forges and or give me a run down on how you did yours. My trouble is shaping the outside and inners because you have to line the wool with the cement, also how effectives firebrick in terms of durability and insulation

Welcome to IFI. After you finish reading the thread Steve linked you to, edit your profile to show where in the world you are. Then get a large bowl of popcorn and a cold adult beverage, go to the sticky Forges 101. You will find those questions have been asked and answered multiple times. You will also find answers that you haven't asked yet plus enough pictures to fill several albums (around page 19 you will find a link to our forge build start to finish).

I don't know what to tell you other than stop watching Youtube and do some serious reading. Nothing you've said shows enough knowledge to do more than read.

I wish I could help you I just don't think I can.

Frosty The Lucky.

Don't worry, this isn't really that hard if you slow down and take it one step at a time. We'll help.