I Forge Iron

Thoughts on hand crank blowers

blackfox

Hey guys, noob here. . .  looking to get my first forge.  I was going to build a propane forge first, and I have started collecting components for it but I found a nice champion forge and hand crank blower setup, so it got me thinking about it.   I am curious if you could share your experience with me?  Are hand crank blowers a pain?  do they have any unique benefits beyond no electric required?  good or bad choice for a beginner?  Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

A good hand cranked blower* is a joy to use, provided you are forging either hard lump charcoal or bituminous coal.  If you have anthracite coal you may find it hard to keep your forge lit as that coal seems to prefer a more continuous air blast.  One of the key advantages other than not needing electricity and the minor noise you get from some electric blower (or the amazing obnoxious noise you get from a shop vac or leaf blower) is that for a noob you are a bit less likely to run through coal as quickly.  No forgetting to turn down the air when you are hammering...  Another is that, at least in my experience, you are less likely to burn up your metal, though you certainly still can if you get carried away.  I've found it also helps me to remember to soak a "hopefully to be forge welded" piece of stock in a low air atmosphere before I go for a forge weld, as I juggle tongs, hammer and crank to get everything ready at once.

*your hand cranked blower should continue to rotate after being brought up to speed at least one full rotation after you let the handle go.

Only complaint I have is the dang things are all set up for lefties...

as I grew up as a mechanic I am prety dexterous with my off (tong) hand and it just seems odd to crank with my off tong hand and manipulate the stock with my hammer hand. 

Btw, chain saw bar oil in an old style oil can is all you need to provide oil for most of them