I Forge Iron

Hello- and, me too, brand of my anvil???

Hello to all- I have not been near an anvil for 40 + years. Even then, it was small parts for plains style half-stock rifle furniture. I worked in a gunsmith shop for a year before I started practicing law. Learned some shade-tree heat treat and torch welding. When I took up racing later in life I torch welded daily and then to tig for chrome-moly sprint car frames and parts- still stress relieved with torch. I have a mig for rough stuff, sold the big tig and so use torch again- making some handtool parts.

So, except for welding, and some heat-treat I am just a rookie. My anvil has "1 3/4 CW", a place where the name was likely ground off, and below that space, "England"( area about 1 1/2" tall and not quite as wide as the word "England."). On the other side "87 Kg." These are cast in. The anvil rings on the face with just bare knuckles- side of the horn shows grind from cleaning off mold flash. It has never been used. Hardy is 1 1/4" sq.( still needs to have flash filed out) and pritchel is 3/4." It is painted with what I would call "Record blue." This refers to the usual hue of Record handtools and vises. OAL is 27". Face is 4 1/2" wide and 16 1/2" long, then a lower by 3/4" flat face, 3" long and 4 1/2" wide. It is 12" exactly on the height of the face. The horn does not have a significantly dished sweep- main diameter is just over 3 1/2" tapering to 7/16" nose.

Those are about all of the features I can think of to help with ID. I am right in town, so I will be using a Propane forge- right now I am too lazy to mess with wool and cement and finding good jet burners- will likely buy. My father and his father are probably "spinning" - they were both fuel engineers specializing in coal.