I Forge Iron

Looking for an anvil

Hello to anyone reading this. I'm a beginner blacksmith. As in, I have almost no materials yet. I'm almost done building my forge, so I think it would be a good idea to acquire an anvil. I've read a decent amount of articles and other forum discussions on anvils for starters. I know some people recommend a piece of railroad track, or a small, square piece of steel, but I want to get an anvil. I think an anvil is the better choice, because it will last me farther on down the road ( feel free to give any persuasive advice on this). I've scoured the web, trying to find an anvil at a price I can afford, but I haven't seen any. My maximum price is only about $100. The reason I came here is to see if anybody had an old anvil that needed restoration work done to it ( Or possibly could point me to someone who does?). I'm located in the Dayton, Ohio area and I can't travel very far outside of there. Thanks for your time, God bless.

At $100 max you would be incredibly lucky to find any real anvil. From the population, Dayton seems like a relatively big place, so I doubt you have any old farmers with anvils from their grandfathers, which is the only way to get an anvil for under $200. Also, you haven't really started forging yet, so I would recommend not spending so much money on a London Pattern anvil (the kind you normally see) and just get something that you can work on. My first (and current) anvil is just a railroad tie plate (much easier to find than track, but also lighter) glued and railroad-spiked into a stump of 4x4s with a heavy chain around the bottom. Something similiar would definitely suit you until you can find more money and until you know the basics of blacksmithing and know that you are really interested (watching videos is much different from the real thing).