I Forge Iron

Introduction

I am new to smithing and have only been doing it a few weeks. I have been getting a lot of information from this website since and before I started so I thought I would join. I use this old buffalo forge that I found in a scrap pile at my buddies house. Biggest problem I have faced so far is finding coal in my area. I have been just using charcoal.

65CDB718-607B-43DE-8EF2-F5695E2A9FC4.jpeg

Welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

Nice rivet forge. Since charcoal likes a deep fire, you might find it useful to build up a deeper firebowl with firebricks or a sand and clay adobe. Lots of good discussions about this in the solid fuel forges section; take a look.

12 hours ago, Aaron Price said:

I have been just using charcoal.

Hey, nothing wrong with charcoal!  Hot, cheap (free) and clean. Probably better in a side blast forge though, so yes, as John said, maybe make the fire bowl a bit deeper.

Nice old blower. They are quite common here and the old timers referred to them as Buffalo blowers.

Thanks I will have to try that out. I finally figured out what my anvil is today. It was from a barn that my step moms parents have. It is evidently a 100 pound Vulcan. It is in bad shape though. Missing chunks and is cracked. The hardy hole end is broken completely off. But it will work for now. I got stuff free and have always wanted to do this so it has worked out so far.

Still, you are ahead of many who are still desperate for a heavy chunk of metal for a makeshift anvil.  Noth8ng wrong with charcoal but, seriously, the smell of coal is a part of smithing that drags you in.  If you smell too much of it, though, you might have a health problem.  

Welcome aboard.

Auto correct was auto reset with the automatic upgrades I can't stop from happening EVERY STINKING TIME I OPEN MY COMPUTER! GRRRR. 

How do we start a class action suit to stop the idiocy?