I Forge Iron

Timing between normalizing and quenching

Hey all, 

I have a piece of 5160 (purchased as such - not scrapped leaf spring) that I am making a small hiking/utility blade out of for my wife. For all the reading and research I've done on the heat treating process, there is one thing that I have not yet found a definitive answer on: if I do three cycles of normalizing, would there be any detriment to the steel if I did not immediately follow it up by heating and quenching it? That is, if I wait to do the quenching until a few hours later (when it's dark enough to see the color of the steel), or a few days later, would I be introducing any potential issues into the final product? 

Worth noting: I'm a complete novice in the entire blacksmithing world, operating with the simplest of equipment, and learning as I go (well, trying to learn *before* I go). I know sending the steel out for heat treat is optimum, but by that rational, purchasing the knife would be better than making it. I appreciate any thoughts or advice you're willing to share! 

My understanding is that the critical timing issue is between hardening and tempering, as the stresses of the former need to be relieved by the latter before they cause cracking. Since normalizing is a stress-relieving procedure, you're not setting up anything that would cause issues.

Chris, nice to see another denizen of CT on here.  Have you joined the CT Blacksmith Guild?

Good luck on the knife.  Please do keep us in the loop.  A word of advice from my own recent experience:

The color of the 5160 when it is at quenching temp is not as bright as you might think.  If you watch videos of people doing it you can be tricked by the camera’s color management or by the fact that many people quench well past the right temp.  I aimed for about 100 degrees past non-magnetic and used color as well.  If you have left over steel try it a few times with scrap to get a feel for it.

Lou