I Forge Iron

hello

well here it goes,

new guy from upstate new york (if anyone is even remotely close to here that would be awesome) and I'm very new to this. bought a anvil from harbor frieght (yes I know) and I got some 1/4inch steel I'm putting ontop of it (to make it less harbor frieghty) I'm currently working on building my forge (going the charcoal hair dryer root) took the lid off one of my old tool boxes (I was going to put it big hole up and line it with fire brick but after more digging around I decided I'll use it as the stand and go see if a buddy of mine has any brake drums off a van or truck laying round). I also got some hammers from harbor frieght. little mini sledge thingy with a sloped back a ball peen and a tack hammer. why a tack hammer? becuase I figure I can use it for rivits or somethin for reasons that will soon become aparent. 

I'm getting my shop set up for the most part right now (it's also my storage locker, garage, and fabrication shop. it's tiny. you can't work on a full sized bagger in there to give you an idea) 

my eventual goal is to be able to make blades. (told you it would be aparent) knifes mostly. and swords. (I'm a sucker for a nice claymore....) but I also realize you can't just buy an anvil and make a sword and call it a day. so some advice would be nice here (even if it's just where on here to look for beginner stuff, I looked and looked and really couldent find a here's how not to be a dumb uhhhh donkey? (side note is cursing permissible here?) or just a general idea of where to begin. I'd also like to make practical things. like I really don't know to be honest. so again any advice is apreaciated. 

some things to know bout me,

I consider myself a very smart idiot. so feel free to tell my I'm a idiot. I'm also bad at spelling. my autocorrect actually handed me a 2 week notice last week becuase of it. otherwise I joke and just try to have a good time. might as well right? who sets out to have a bad time?