I Forge Iron

Modifying a mini-sledge

Jon Kerr

Hi all,

I've had a look at both these posts and they're very informative: 

Does anyone have any further recommendations in terms of modifying a hammer into something more useful/suitable for forging?

Please excuse my ignorance, I'm very new to all this, but it appears as though a really good "workshorse" hammer is a Hofi-style or German style shape.... cross pein, with a square face, dressed as per the description in the above thread.

Is it reasonable to assume that one could grind a hand-sledge into a similar shape to a Hofi/german hammer for a similar effect? I guess you'd have to watch out for the balance, and ensure the face was dressed properly?

I bought a couple of old hand sledge's this weekend (at a car-boot sale, for 50p each). I'm hoping I can grind them into a cross pein, balance by removing material from the front, then dress the face. See the attached image (stolen from another thread on here) as an example of the basic shape I'd hope to achieve (then dressed according to the above post, 24" radius etc) 

What needs to be done in terms of hardening etc?

Would this result in a good hammer? Any tips, warnings, pitfalls?

Cheers,

JK

image-1.jpg

I have a set of 3 3# double jack hammers I modified, one with a full radius cross pein, one with a full radius strait pein and one with a full radius ball pein, used with the horn as a bottom fuller they are my go to drawing hammers. I also have a pair with mor conventional 1” radius pein made from 3# double jack hammers as well. 

As a farrier I grab my rounding hammer it my cats eye cross pein most often. 

I modified a 3lb. double jack into a very nice rounding hammer that was my go-to before I started making my own. 

Whatever you do to modify yours, make sure you grind slowly, so as not to build up heat and ruin the temper.

Here’s the hammers I got cheap.

Any recommendations for modifications?