I Forge Iron

Inspired by Mark III jabod

I have been using a bottom blast fire pot that I inherited for seven or eight months. I am using charcoal and looking at the jabod types. When I saw the Mark III I knew that was it. Four hours at the forge and and only one coal bucket of charcoal, where I had been going through a bucket an hour. Thanks Charles and everyone else for posting pictures and ideas.

IMG_20180527_173626382.jpg

IMG_20180527_173600420.jpg

IMG_20180525_184453820.jpg

There are those on the forum who can probably explain the particulars. I would say the air supply is part of it, size of the fire bowl, and somehow the angle of air delivery. Sorry I can't be more descriptive.

Not being a pyrochemist or physicist I can only make some educated guesses and share my observations. 

We have known for a wile that bottom blast forges required a deeper coal bed than side blast forges when burning charcoal. Part of the problem is probbably the volume of air, but perhaps also the fact that one one pushes the air in sideways it takes a fraction of a second longer to turn and move up threw the fuel (being an ex mechanic and used to thinking about the fixed amount of time the flame front moves across a piston vs the amount of time it has to do so at higher RPMs) 

in the case of the Mark III JABOD forge the fire bowl is only about 2” deep (1” above the tuyere) 4” across and 6-8” long. You pile a cuple of inches of fuel on top of the hearth as well (my experiments show coal likes more air and a slightly deeper fire in the side blast configuration) using a dubble acting bed pump and only bringing the fire up to forging temp also helps me conserve fuel. The stock heats slower but more thoraly and when the stock isn’t in the fire you burn less fuel. To weld bring the stock to forging temp then pump more vigorously to reach welding temp.