I Forge Iron

Directional forging.. Hammer understanding as I see it...

jlpservicesinc

This is going to be a long thread with long responses..   If you can bear it, hold out and read it all..  Sorry it's so long it's going to be covered in sections with what I have learned over the last 30+ years of having "No one" to tell me it shouldn't be done this way..    

I have spent the past week, just forging metal and making notes of how or why and when and where and have devoted some time to directional forging of ends of bars.. 

I have in the works 3 videos which will be in addition to this thread..   I'm hopeful this thread will open some doors to thinking with a discussion on why or how or what people have discovered on their own.. 

I'm hopeful also that the level of detail will be presented by the respondents so it can be looked at by others..   

I personally have been a smith for a long time.. I was a professional for a 8 years with a total of nearly 40 years working metal.. the early years were spent making knives and swords and such.. I then progressed into what I deem as Early American Forging..( or American General blacksmith practices) This being door hardware, tools, and misc..  Pretty much anything..  

I am self taught with no mentors or really anything other than a few old books..  This left the field of exploration completely open as I had no reference points and no one telling me something won't work..   I soon learned being in business for myself that if I quote a job..  I better come in at that time frame or else I'd lose money.. If I came in under the time I'd make extra money..