I Forge Iron

Opinion of my possible first anvil

Hi guys 

Please help me I'm new to the craft an am busy looking for a anvil. I found this one but I hope you can help me make my mind up.

Is this anvil to damaged and is that  round a "hardy" or what 

Please give me your thoughts on the anvil.

The guy said that the anvil is round about 200 kg (÷- 440 pound) 

And compared to other anvil of the same weight it's about half the price 

IMG-20180509-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20180509-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20180509-WA0005.jpg

Did you give it a bounce test with a ball bearing? If it has good rebound I would think it's a good buy, depending on price of course. And at 400#+ that's a lot of mass. Looks like maybe a chunk of the heel is missing, but hey, what do you want to do that that anvil couldn't handle?

Hello, and welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

It looks like the heel got broken off this anvil and took the original hardy hole with it. Like ausfire says, if the rebound is good, it should still be functional. 

Anvil prices vary widely by region, so if you could tell us what the seller is asking and put your location in your profile settings, we could give you a better idea as to whether that's a decent price. Half the price of the others isn't a good deal if the others are priced at four times the local going rate.

No I'm driving to see the anvil this weekend. I am still new to the game so I do a bit of scrolling and a bit of knive making.

At this stage I'm busy getting more into it I am using a rail track at the moment. 

Just for fun here is a pic of a vice I just acquired 

20180425_090937.jpg

No idea what prices are like in SA, but we have some other members there who (hopefully) will be along to weigh in.

If you do a site search* on the ball bearing test, you'll find what we mean.

*There are tips on how best to do this on the link I posted above.