I Forge Iron

Tempering or Hardening or...

Hello All-
Apologies if I seem unfamiliar with the terms of hardening metal- I'm pretty new to this whole thing, so..

Here's my conundrum:
I am building a device to roll 3/4" fire hose. Currently it's done by hand and can be rather tedious. We double-roll it, so the middle is found, it's folded over on itself & the roll started from there.

Now my idea is to take a piece of 5/16 round stock & cut a slot down the middle as seen in this drawing:

hoseRollerNose.jpg

Attach a handle to this piece like a crank and with the appropriate mount & such, one side of the hose is placed in the slot, the handle turned, and the hose will wind itself around the 'business end' of the device.

Only one problem (so far) and here's where I need your advice: As the hose is rolled, the tension created will tend to crush the 'fork' together. I'd like to overcome this- as if that fork is smashed together the roller becomes useless.

I'm hoping to harden or temper the forks so they can't be bent easily.. But I'm not sure how to do that. I have heard about "case hardening" where (I believe) the pieces are placed in an air-tight can full of charcoal or bone, heated to a red heat & left to cool in the forge. Is this an option?
I have also heard of using a propane torch to heat the piece one wishes to harden untill the color changes to .. "Straw" I believe, then quickly quenching the item in water or oil. If this is my best option, can anyone suggest which liquid to use?

Now of cource I don't want the forks to become brittle and break off, but I don't want them to mash together either.

Thanks in advance for any help- and apologies (again) if I've mis-used any of the terminology.

Krstopher: