I Forge Iron

Craft Fair Preparations

So my sister is has a booth at a craft fair to sell some things that she has been making (custom signs and other home decor) and asked me if I could come along and help her sell things. I thought that it would be a good opportunity to try and sell some forged trinkets and stuff, since she already has a booth and agreed to the proposition. However, I have no experience when it comes to this kind of stuff. After some reading from previous posts, I came up with a list of things I'd like to try to have prepared for the fair. What do you guys think? I don't know how realistic any of my pricing is, like I said this is the first time I've ever tried to sell anything I've made

5ae6b91f24140_HillFestPrep.thumb.png.921d31a778cd09f19eb7c426d0236e1c.png

1 hour ago, JHCC said:

I have no idea whether or not your pricing is realistic, but I must admire your organization.

You'd be amazed at what you can accomplish at 3 am when you're procrastinating studying for finals.

Good luck at your craft fair!  It is hard to give an appraisal of pricing without seeing pictures of your pieces and the amount of detail and quality you have included.  What kind of pricing have you seen at similar craft fairs in your area?  How much are your trying to earn per hour for your work?  I have learned a lot at farmers markets/craft fairs.......mostly patience;)  Hang in there.  get your finals finished before posting pics and let us know how you and your sister do at the craft fair.

Tom

I think you're really shorting yourself. $10.00 leaf finial coat hooks didn't sell but $19.95 coat hooks cleared the table in about half an hour and every one sold as soon as I finished it.

I'd double all your prices, maybe triple a couple.

It's EASY to lower prices and almost impossible to raise them. I got away with it by blaming bad advice. Just because the guy who was insisting $10.00 was too much was standing right there was icing.