I Forge Iron

what press should i get

michael klemz

so I have been doing some looking but I can't seem to find a power hammer that I could buy but with my price range I don't think I could even get a power hammer ever but I could get a press and I know I can forge weld on them for making Damascus and that is the main reason I wanted a power hammer but I don't know what is a good press like brand and price wise my price range is like 400-600 dollars and how many tons of force do I need for blacksmithing im a hobbyist. 

michael klemz, I wouldn't go any lower than 16 tons, I suggest you check out Coal Iron Work's presses to get a general idea of pricing...

IF buying a press is out of the question then maybe look into getting an old log splitter (20 + tons) and convert it into a forging press, which would probably be cheaper and easier than building a forging press from scratch. Check out Big Dog Forge's video about converting a log splitter into a forging press on youtube. Make sure when buying a log splitter that the quoted tonnage is not quoted from the log splitter's ram cutting edge and rather the cylinder's rod because of smaller surface area = more tonnage (I hope I've made at least an ounce of sense.)

I'm sure more experienced people will chime in soon and give you better advice than mine.

Disclaimer: I'm only 15 yrs so don't take anything I say for granted!!

Ross

A punch press, (toggle press, O.B.I) will do anything a hammer will do, no modification whatsoever, and you can get em for scrap or less around here.  Don't know about Washington.  Go for between 35 to 75 tons. I've stuck on a picture down below of a random OBI just so you know what I'm talking about.  

OBIPress.jpg