I Forge Iron

Ribbon burner forge question

Anthony Bruno

Hey all, new here and first post. I’ve been a lurker for a few months now but I’ve now signed up. I just completed a ribbon burner forge based on Wayne coes design on his site and in fact got the supplies from him. I just have a few quick questions and wanted to introduce myself.my question is what kind of gas pressure guys with similar set ups are running. I have only fired this forge 3 times so far and I’m still learning how to best regulate it. I give a quick run down on the forge. Like said already it’s a copy of Wayne’s design and burner was built as per the specs on his site only I increased length by an inch so mine is 7 as opposed to 6.  I got the blower for my forge from the old trash incinerator set up in one of the large apartment buildings I work for as maintenance. It’s a pressure blower not a squirrel cage type. Blower is rated at 80cfm. Seems to run this forge with air to spare. I am regulating air flow via a nice butterfly type valve my buddy and I made inside a 2 inch diameter 6 inch pipe nipple in his home machine shop set up. I’m feeding propane from a 100lb tank thru a regulator to hose running to needle valve and dumping from valve thru a 1/4 nipple welded into a cast 90 I have a mixer in the pipe between gas supply and burner. I’m not having and uneven burn or anything like that it seems to run beautifully I am just curious as to what kind of pressure I should be looking at. Like I said I’ve only fired it 3 times so far to ramp up and not overheat the castable so I’m just lookin for a few guidelines on regulating a ribbon burner. Blower seems to have plenty of air to spare.

Also wanted to add I use firebricks to close up the front and rear openings so I’m not running with ends wide open like that.

9DCD8065-402E-40B5-90DE-B444DA031521.jpeg

0C653CD5-6D7D-448A-B7D0-B0AED03CF827.jpeg

BE5B2881-E5CE-4A9B-8655-B3E7C431956E.jpeg