I Forge Iron

So here is where I am at;  I have been forging for a few years and a very good friend recently approached me with a proposition.  He is an amateur astronomer building his own telescope.  He has the mirror cell ground and finished; we are working on a wooden frame to house the entirety of the telescope but the mirror cell presents its own challenge.  The mirror cell needs to be mounted in a rather unusual metal bracket.  He has persued the option of machining but it would be rather cost prohibitive.  He has done some aluminum casting and I am quite familiar with the process and the safety equipment required to perform the task of melting metal.  We do intend to make this metal bracket out of brass as he is a tall ship deckhand in his free time and he likes the overall aesthetic.  We do intend to melt and cast some of the lesser alloys with this foundry. We have purchased good, reliable safety equipment but were rather fond of the idea of building a home foundry ourselves. We procured, for no cost, a solid #20 propane tank from my gas supplier and, having him bleed it thoroughly, we took it to the shop.  After removing the brass valve, filling and draining the tank with soapy water (to remove any excess heavy gas) we cut it in half.  Cleaned and dried the tank, sanded down the sharp edges after cutting: we have a usable hunk of metal.  We cut a hole for the burner and one for a spill spout, should we have a failure in a crucible.  The base of the tank has kaowool and a fire brick to give a very flat surface for the charge. After this lining was installed and a cardboard tube placed to hold the refactory we mixed and poured genuine refactory, rated to 2000 degrees.  At this point in the pictures you are probably wondering what is the deal with the yellow cardboard tube, No One had “just the right size.”  So, we cut it, punched a few holes and laced it up with some leftover leather to make it work.  We finally duct taped a cardboard base on the bottom of t