I Forge Iron

Upsetting width to thickness limits

Shalev Zohar

Hey, me again!

Not much progress with the sword, as to be expected. I'm still setting up the new place, I will hopefully make a killer forge in a week, and then some tools to pile up.

This is the problem: I want to make a sword with a base thickness of 5-7mm, base width of 2.5-3 centimeters and length of at least one meter, and a lot of extra material to grind because I don't trust myself enough with making clean forging work in there. I've got a 5mm thick 6cm wide 70cm long piece of spring steel. to get both higher thickness, length and take advantage of the axcess width I want to upset as much of it as I can. 

My question is: What is the width to thickness ratio at which the leaf will no longer upset but just mushroom or crumble?

or more simple to me: the maximum width at which you can still upset a 5mm thick bar?

I'm no expert in this and I don't want to fight metal for too many hours, so this needs to be a reasonable width as well, I will square the bar beforehand with a disc, but I'll also cut the final working bar out then and for that I need the width. I changed my mind and the bar will not be sword shaped as in the picture but just rectangle.

20170720_182645.thumb.jpg.3ed89f0ce13c2105b1cf4fcdea652775.jpg

20180313_093927.thumb.jpg.4ae8a9abf49fc0af5fa3c78ccda30168.jpg

20180226_074708.thumb.jpg.630b86d6beb1bcfe0200e097357ef1fe.jpg

I'd also welcome some general upsetting tips

And a quick question: How'd you recommend for me to show the advancements in the sword project here?

Show your advancements by continuing to post, with photos.