I Forge Iron

Interested in Blacksmithing as a Hobby

Hello everyone, my name is Brandon and I live in Peoria, AZ. I have always been fascinated in metal work, especially blacksmithing, ever since I was a child. I've always loved going to my local renaissance fair, or pioneer village and watching the blacksmith hammer away. I have recently been thinking more about diving into blacksmithing as a Hobby, but I'm not to sure what is recommended to get started. I have researched local classes for beginners, as well as found my local ABANA chapter here in Arizona. Though, I am mostly interested in the old school fashion of blacksmithing which seems to be more rare nowadays. Since I have no experience or knowledge in this field, I'm looking for any advice possible as to what is recommended to learn more about blacksmithing and how to get involved. Thank you for any comments!

Welcome to the forum. Mind if I ask what you mean by "old school fashion"? The craft has been around for thousands of years,  so a time period would be helpful if we are going to do you any good with advice. Also be aware that, although doing things using antiquated methods is fun and educational,  there is a reason they are antiquated. opting for a rough rock instead of a belt grinder may be a heck of a cool thing to try, but PLEASE don't limit yourself unnecessarily. Again, welcome to the forum and the craft. 

Tubalcain2, my apologize I should have been more specific in my post. By "old fashioned", I mean not with all of the electric machinery and power tools that modern day businesses would use. I'm a big history buff and the old school way could be anywhere from medieval times to the early/mid 20th century. Though I have to say, some modern day tools sound appealing to make life a bit easier. So, I guess I could say a mix of both worlds is what I am interested in. Since I have no experience, my preferances most likely would change down to road. Thank you again for your response!