I Forge Iron

hammer punch heat treat

At the risk of annoying the curmudgeons (I have read a lot about heat treatment, tempering etc. but there are lot of conflicting opinions), I just need to know if I'm on the right track to making the hammer punch I made serviceable. Most things I make don't require heat treatment, so I have little experience in this.

In short - cherry red, water quench about 50mm up from the tip, shine, watch colours run, stop at ? I quenched it at a straw colour, as it looked like blue wasn't going to happen. A couple of questions if I may:

Did I quench it too deeply from red? How far from the tip would be right?

Is straw a bit too hard (brittle?) and should I reheat and start again aiming for blue?

Here's a pic of the colours after final quench:

hammer temper1.JPG

Hi Aus,

If you want to use it for hot punching you don't need very exact tempering - the first dip in the orange hot stock is ruining all heat treating at the business end. 

If I were you and if it is a hot use tool, I'd just put its business end tip back in the fire for a short time (~10 sec in a normal coal fire). It gives some ease for the steel, and then the first punching job will do the rest.

Bests:

Gergely

Here's my take. You may already be doing some of what I recommend.

Heat treat with constant light, not outside 

When hardening and using the reserve (differential) method, quench shortly after it loses it's magnetism. Sorta like a cooks punch if salt. Experience will be your teacher.

Only harden an inch or two, not most of the punch.

You can add heat in a few ways if the colors quit running. A ox/ac torch, a hot bar placed in the eye(have a few ready), special tongs with a heavy mass on the ends to place near where you need it.

Quench or harden only a little, not a lot. Depending on the tool, anywhere from a quarter inch for a small cold chisel to a half inch on your tool.