I Forge Iron

Hello all new here....

AndrewB

Hello all pretty much new here. I stumbled onto this forum site seeking answers on what types of metals I could use to start forging knives and tools from.  I’m in the process of putting together a poor mans coal fire forge until I can get the equipment to construct a proper one, (breakdrum forge).  I am somewhat new to this process I messed around a little with it in college welding so I have a mediocre idea on what I’m doing.

I plan on making knives and other useful items including forging tools for myself.  I still have several things I need to finish getting set up, before I can technically get started.  But I’m more interested in the coal fire forge rather than propane or gas, way too many bad experiences with propane.  Any tips and suggestions would be helpful thanks

Do a site search for JABOD (just a box of dirt) which is simple and inexpensive to build.

Read the knife section of the site from front to back for knife information. Then move on to the blacksmithing general discussion, and forge section. This should answer most of your question as well as give you a ton of information.

I agree with Glenn. If you buy 2” pipe fittings to build a tuyere for a brake drum forge it will cost you about $50. I started the just a box of dirt thread (pinned in the solid fuel forge section) to show how to build a side blast forge for les than $20 including air supply. 

You will also find pinned in the anvil section a selection of improvised anvils (the horn as part of an anvil is relative rare up until about 200 years ago) 

lastly Steve Sells and Rich Hale put in a lot of time answering questions in the beginners knife chat.